Following on from my recent post   70’s fashion reblog , a reblog from the wonderful blog called We Heart Vintage, i thought i would share with you my hats. I’m pretty sure i have expressed my liking for hats a while back in my blog, but i have never got around to sharing with you my hats.None of which are vintage, but i always love to pick a vintage inspired style!

The fact is I’m Ginger. Pale, pasty, and very burnable in the sun, and honestly sun hats are the only thing that can keep me sane in the summer sun (of which we have had very little in England this year), and so rather by necessity i have trained myself to appreciate the hat, and also fellow hat wearers. Particularly as it is not always easy to wear a whopping great hat with utter confidence! Naturally i believe myself to be a bit of a wally in my hats, and do not consider myself a confident wearer of hats, but needs must and if you are given lemons, make lemonade, so i do try to enjoy the yearly ritual of the sun hat and frankly any hat looks better than a red and peeling sunburned face!

Image

Image

Image

And whilst i am on the subject of hats, i would just like to share with you the hat stand i use. Its actually a Milliners block and it belonged to my Grandmother, Sylvia who was a milliner! I would love to have some of the hats she made and i would have loved to have met her, but unfortunately i don’t and i didnt. If anyone would like to see some pictures though I’m sure i could dig out a few photos of some of her hats! Its also her I have to thank (or possibly blame! only kidding!) for the gingerness, oh and my middle name is Sylvia! So my liking and need of hats really does come from that side of my family!

